junior year and chana masala

it feels like the smallest blink of time since i’ve posted but it’s been… three weeks

I’ve just started my junior year of classes. I’m only taking 16 credit hours but I’m working two jobs and frankly, I’ve mostly been eating goldfish crackers and cafeteria food. I spend most of my free time doing calculus problems (once I went to the beach!) A sign of how stressful this has been: I am currently listening to the angsty music of my youth.

well this is actually for my economics class. the book said this was a simple problem

this is what I’m missing out on

But last week I actually made a curry (I know I post about this a lot, but this recipe is really good)

Chana Masala

This is my mother’s recipe. I believe she adapted it from the Vegetarian Epicure by Anna Thomas. This is a simple and delicious dish.

Ingredients

  • 2 cans chickpeas
  • butter or olive oil
  • one tomato
  • cilantro
  • garlic
  • lemon juice to taste

SPICES:

  •  Pimenta roja or cayenne pepper
  • Garam masala
  • curry powder
  • garlic or onion powder
  • lots of turmeric

I am not a very neat cook

Step 1: rinse the chickpeas, cover them in water and cook them over medium heat until they are beginning to get soft.

Step 2: put the butter or olive oil in a sauce pan. I use my teensy one & use enough oil/butter to cover the bottom of the pan. This probably amounts to 1-2 tbs. Add the spices and crushed garlic, stir and cook over low heat for a few minutes.

Step 3: add the spices, lemon juice and chopped tomato to the chickpeas. this should be done about halfway through.

Step 4: let the whole thing simmer for awhile. At the end, chop up some cilantro and add it.

Then we eat!

lunch time!

Plus it has the Dmitry Seal of Approval. What more can you ask for?

Now it’s time to get back to work!

Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “junior year and chana masala

  1. rorypond2020 says:

    Channa masala is so good – can’t wait to try this.

  2. Yum … making me hungry for Indian food!

  3. Lisa says:

    Do you have measurements for the spices? This looks like a great recipe! I will make it this week. Lisa (Of Lisa and Lee fame…) 🙂

  4. Hi Lisa 🙂
    I usually just do spices to taste, but it would probably be somewhere from 1/2tsp – 1tsp depending on how much you’re making.

Leave a comment